Antara Owners Club banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HiI have just joined the Club and wanted to say hello
I am new to Antara ownership and so far (3 weeks) I can say I love my car. I have been browsing because I had the dreaded burning smell and fan running after turning off the engine - car has only got 300 miles on the clock. After worrying all day I came on here and it looks as though I have experienced my first PFD regen. Is this normal at such low mileage? I have tried to keep the revs below 2000, do new cars still need to be 'run in' these days? Yep I am a typical female of a certain age

·
Registered
365 Posts
Hi and welcome,not an expert on regens but someone will probably answer your question,never really notice when mine does it but think you need to keep above 2000 revs to clear it and a bit of a drive.

·
Registered
472 Posts
Hi and welcome to the club, new cars don't need to be run in like they used to. Yes you probably have had your first DPF regen, while doing a regen you need to keep your revs at about 2000 rpm this will take 10 -20 mins to complete. Do you have a bc which gives you your mpg, if so you will notice your instant mpg will drop right down until the regen is completed. Hope this helps you.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi Murphy1

There is a bc button but it doesn't seem to do anything when I press it. I have the Diamond variant so not sure if it is supposed to work

Difficult to keep revs at 2000 for that long as I live in a very rural area - winding lanes etc.

·
Premium Member
1,758 Posts
Welcome to the forum Lablady.

Try not to worry just drive it as normal and it will be fine. Its only if you do lots of short stop start town trips you need to worry.

It is normal to have several regens when the Antara is new after a couple of thousand miles things will settle down to a normal 500ish miles between regens.

·
Registered
1,890 Posts