Antara Owners Club banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm a Newbie. I have a 2.2 antara 163bhp nav. I too find the dpf troublesome and expensive on fuel. Here is a bit of information I read some time ago. A volvo owner removed the honeycombed ceramic filter from his dpf making in effect a straight through pipe. when he put it back on the car a warning light came on. He observed there were two pipes coming out of the dpf, one before the filter and one after. these ran up to a pressure sensor.He calculated that the pressure difference in an unblocked filter would cause the pressure sensor to send a certain voltage to the ecu.He now realized that by removing the ceramic core there was now no pressure difference at all and the sensor was letting the ecu know this, hence the warning light. He purchased from Maplins a potentiometer [voltage adjuster] for around £1.50 He connected this in between the sensor and the ecu and set the voltage to what it should be for a clean dpf. This got rid of the warning light and also the regeneration. His car has more power and no one can tell that his Dpf has been tampered with. I almost tried this on my last 2ltr antara but luckily sold it first.

·
Registered
23 Posts
The ECU on the Antara is Bosch EDC 17 with an Infineon Tricore Processor. it is in effect a computer andI think any attempt to fool it using a cheap transistor is not a good idea
There arecompanies around who will remove the DPF and properly reprogram the ECU, the problem is that this will invalidate any VX warranty

Edited by: Busterboy

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3