Antara Owners Club banner
41 - 60 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Have got op-com software and cable but having problems getting the software to recognise the cable when connected. Laptop says us drivers etc are installed and up to date. Anyone have any ideas on rectifying this thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Hello at all,
bought a 2014 Antara lowest version here in germany, not sure which one it would be in UK.
Got the CD40usb with BC button but nothing at all happened when i press the button, not even a NO FUNCTION message or anything will be shown.
It looks like the Antara hasn't got a lot of fans over here and i can't find any Informations how to activate BC and if it will work on my 2014 Antara.
I guess so far that older Models had all activated BC in cars underhood electronics but vauxhall or opel deactivated the function with the display code like 01 is display without BC 02 is the one with BC and you just nedded to switch these # to the next higher one and it is working.
If i do so with dealers tech2 i cän't even program or set a new code (there's no field at all) .
I hadn't got a lot of time with the tech2 at the dealer but am I guessing right that i have to activate bordcomputer and check control in underhood electronics before i can do so?
Is there anyone here who was able to activate BC or CC on his 2014 Antara?
Thank's a lot guys and greetings from germany.

BTW - I already swithed the turnsignal stalk and have now cruise control - thanks to all who explained here how to do so!

Edited by: DerFalte
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,197 Posts
DerFalte said:
Hello at all,
bought a 2014 Antara lowest version here in germany, not sure which one it would be in UK.
Got the CD40usb with BC button but nothing at all happened when i press the button, not even a NO FUNCTION message or anything will be shown.
It looks like the Antara hasn't got a lot of fans over here and i can't find any Informations how to activate BC and if it will work on my 2014 Antara.
I guess so far that older Models had all activated BC in cars underhood electronics but vauxhall or opel deactivated the function with the display code like 01 is display without BC 02 is the one with BC and you just nedded to switch these # to the next higher one and it is working.
If i do so with dealers tech2 i cän't even program or set a new code (there's no field at all) .
I hadn't got a lot of time with the tech2 at the dealer but am I guessing right that i have to activate bordcomputer and check control in underhood electronics before i can do so?
Is there anyone here who was able to activate BC or CC on his 2014 Antara?
Thank's a lot guys and greetings from germany.

BTW - I already swithed the turnsignal stalk and have now cruise control - thanks to all who explained here how to do so!
The tech guy that reinstated my BC function used: Astra J programme, as its the same as the Antara. Antara may not be listed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Thanks a lot for the informations guys, guess GB is a little bit to far just for BC function :) Got an appointment tomorrow at Opel Dealer and the technician told me he has an our planed and we will figure it out. I'll let you know if it works .
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Update : BC is working now!
It shows me:
BC 1:
current fuel
average fuel needed on 100Km
average speed on 100Km

BC 2 : same than BC 1

i can reset each BC to zero

Timer - Timer
- Timer since last Stop/break
- Trip Timer

Only thing I'm missing is - How far i can get with remaining fuel.
Is that something Check Control is needed for and is it possible to program check control like BC ?
It was possible to ad CC on my Astra H only thing i was missing then was Window cleaner liquid empty or however you call that thing due to a missing sensor, rest was working finde even the bulb check control...


So who knows more about Check Control on Antara 2.2 cdti 2wd ?
Thank's,
best regards,
Falk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Morning FolksCan someone tell me or better still post some pictures of what and how info is displayed with the BC Button my wifes car is a 2014 Exclusive all that is shown is the tyre pressure sure i read somewhere that MPG oil pressure and coolant temp can be displayed. I am only intrested in the Coolant Temp as we will use this for towing the caravan. One more question i understand it has to be activated can someone tell me how to get this done?
Many thanks for any help you can impart.
Regards
Beetee
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,197 Posts
Hi, If you search on the forum you will find all the info there. I had my BC instated by a tech guy near Birmingham. Main dealers are not very helpful (either don't know how to do it or wont).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Hi ChrisI have had a rake through the forums but am realing struggling to finds the info i am looking for as the forums to a simpleton like me are not user freindly. Any help you or anyone else can give would be very welcome.
Regards
Beetee
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
217 Posts
Hi Beetee, firstly I would ask your local main dealer, you never know they may be able to help you! If not then a local VX expert or specialist? I am going to ask my dealer when I am there next to see if they can do mine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,197 Posts
Hi, I'm not fully au fa with the procedure, but the guy that did my BC function re-instated it with the software from the Astra J, as its the same I'm told. I went to a main dealer and asked for the Bc function to be re-instated and to fit a cruise control unit. They did fit the cruise control unit,but were not able to do the BC function (these are supposed to be the VX technicians
) Charged me £80 for labour.
This is the guy that did my BC function, 5 mins, £30


http://www.diagnostics.org.uk/help/index.php

Depends on your driving,but cruise control is well worth fitting for £50

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-Genuine-Vauxhall-Antara-Indicator-Stalk-With-Cruise-Control-Buttons-95462610-/370979748151?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item56601db937

The above is from a VX dealer and original VX part. Easy to fit. e.mail them your reg or VIN and they will send the correct part


Edited by: chrisg
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
586 Posts
I had diagnostics.org do my BC aswell, £30 5 minute job, if you have standard head unit CD40, I think if you hold in settings button for about 10 seconds, it will beep and will be into VX Menu, if you have radio on quite you will here beep, there's loads of useless info in that hidden menu but there is all the temps.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Have posted this elsewhere, but looking for advice. Took 2013 antara to dealer yesterday to have BC activated. On way home found that it is not showing the instantaneous MPG which is what I wanted. Phoned dealer again, to be told that they cannot change the options on the display - so can only show gallons used since reset, average mpg since reset, average mph since reset, miles covered since reset.
There doesn't seem to be a diagnostics place in central Scotland that will do this.

IS my only option to buy an op-com?
Will it need to be the 2014 version, to cover the 2013 antara (around £40 I think)?
Will I then be able to change the options myself?
 
41 - 60 of 87 Posts
Top