Tyres and cruise control - Page 2 - Vauxhall Antara Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 15th December 2020, 10:04 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 12
I am too convinced they are two different issues. I will wait until the tyres are replaced before worrying about the TMPS. Its an auto so not clutch. I can only see one peddle position switch on brake peddle and I have ordered a new one to try.
Haggis120 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 15th December 2020, 19:25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 258
Hi Something you won't of considered but maybe a remote possibility, this could be an effect of something completely unconnected with the cruise control. Let me explain, I once had a mondeo with a faulty door lock and the boot would not open on the button, also on the Antara when I forgot to plug in my heater plugs the stop start wouldn't work, this puzzled me for about 12 months until I recently found the problem by reading the codes and investigating.

Car designers often inhibit something inconvenient on cars when something else doesn't work, I presume the reason is you will take the car into the garage when they will check the codes and find the real reason in order that it can be repaired without you being aware. The Mondeo was a prime example the rear boot switch had nothing to do with the door lock, but when the door lock was fixed it allowed the fault code to reset then the boot would open. It took 13 trips to the dealers to sort and they ended up bringing ford in who found it straight away by just plugging in a code reader which identified the door lock in fault. This was after 3 ECU's, 2 dash buttons, 2 boot buttons and I think a boot lock had been replaced.

It is possible, and I really don't know, but their may be absolutely nothing wrong with the cruise control, but a fault code from something else may be preventing it from working. It may be worth getting the codes checked, I think someone may of mentioned this earlier. Richy

Last edited by Richy; 15th December 2020 at 19:32.
Richy is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 15th December 2020, 19:49 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 12
Hi Richy, I have had a reader plugged in and there are no codes. Im hoping the new brake position switch comes soon. I was playing about today and I noticed that if I held the set button in whilst trying to put the cruise on it would not switch on until I released the saet button so this kinda tells me that the set switch must be making.
Haggis120 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 16th December 2020, 18:22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 258
Had to read this a couple of times, but i think I get what you mean. The dash won't illuminate when the cruise is switched on and the set button is held in simultaneously, but once the set button is released then the dash illuminates, yes makes sense, suggesting the set button operation is being seen by the ECU.

Just found this, have a read, apparently you need an advanced scanner to read the code. I.e. perhaps the car won't export the fault to the OBDII port and you need to read directly from the ECU.

https://www.yourmechanic.com/article...-cheryl-knight

Perhaps you could have a look for the blown fuse.
Richy is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 12th January 2021, 16:49 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 12
I had OPCOM on it today and it is saying my brake switch is active all the time but my brake light are going on and off as they should. I fitted a new switch also but still says active. Im a bit stumped???
Haggis120 is offline  
post #16 of 19 (permalink) Old 12th January 2021, 21:48 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 12
I keep getting fault code C0277-4B.
Haggis120 is offline  
post #17 of 19 (permalink) Old 13th January 2021, 07:38
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 258
You said
"I had OPCOM on it today and it is saying my brake switch is active all the time but my brake light are going on and off as they should. I fitted a new switch also but still says active. Im a bit stumped???"

Well there you go, ok the problem is the brake switch, at least now you know.

On a previous post I mentioned I thought their was a second brake switch, I must of read it somewhere, so if this were me that is what I would be looking for. Definately, OPCOM has told you that. Now you just have to find that second switch, check it switches and check the wiring is ok. Richy
Richy is offline  
post #18 of 19 (permalink) Old 14th January 2021, 22:03 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 12
I have read that the body control module might need calibrated. I really cant find a second switch.

C0277 4B: Brake Pedal Position Sensor Circuit Calibration Not Learned.
Haggis120 is offline  
post #19 of 19 (permalink) Old 15th January 2021, 17:08
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 258
Yes, I think your right. Looks like this is way outside my knowledge base. Clearly the problem is brake signal, its probably no coincidence the code C0277 4B your getting as well. However the system may self calibrate if it were receiving the signal. Think you may need an expert to solve. Richy
Richy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Vauxhall Antara Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome