Antara Owners Club banner

Steering freeplay

10K views 14 replies 9 participants last post by  kevin56eb 
#1 ·
Hi

Im a newbie here,and recently bought my first Antara 2.2cdti fwd s/s.
I recently had it back to dealers for steering freeplay, apparently the universal joint on the column was worn, on a 2014 reg with 21000 on the clock.
Anyone else had issues ?
David

#3 ·
Just picked up a 63 plate with 11000 miles on the clock.
I too have noticed the play in the steering wheel. It's definitely not in the steering rack but more like wear in the steering wheel splines.
It's going back tomorrow anyway to see how good the network Q 12 month warranty is

Phil.

#4 ·
It's not something that gets reported very often on the Antara and I would have expected the universal joint coupling to be more susceptible than the steering wheel to column splines but if someone has had the wheel off for some reason and hasn't tightened it up properly then you will get looseness and wear if it's left long enough.

There was a recall for Antara steering shaft but that was a long time ago and wouldn't affect your year and model.

#6 ·
I'd like to think any issue with steering would be treated as significant so they should thoroughly investigate it and advise / repair as necessary.

First thing to do is to have them agree there is something wrong. Speak to the service advisor or the workshop foreman and show him the free play, get him to agree there is an issue. When you get the car back check it carefully yourself and see whether the free play has been fixed. If you're not happy with it then ask to see the foreman or similar person and tell him. If you're not happy don't be fobbed off, stick to your guns and don't leave the premises with the car until you are satisfied.

#8 ·