Antara 2,2 4x4 Fuel Filter Change - Vauxhall Antara Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 3rd October 2017, 14:26 Thread Starter

Hello, I am new to this forum, so please forgive me if you have completed this task before, and it is detailed here.
I am new to Anatara ownership, and have searched far and wide on how to change the fuel filter on my car, I have picked up several pointers from both this site, and others, but thought I would share with you the process I experienced over the weekend.

Firstly, make sure the car is jacked up and firmly supported. I drove the front wheels up ramps, and the rear, I then jacked up and held on both axle stands and trolley jacks.

The location of the filter housing in under the passenger side rear seats, about a third of the way under the car, not the easiest place to get access to.

it is an aluminium housing with two round black plastic filters housed in it. The nut size on these filters is 27mm, and both need to be replaced about 4 years or 40k miles.

Once you have the housing in sight, it is a good idea to remove any dust or debris, and generally give it a good clean, this will stop any unwanted dirt entering the fuel system.

Using a screwdriver, undo the crosshead screw (this is plastic, so be careful), and allow some fuel to drain out. then while this is open, start to remove one of the filters.

Mine were originals, and the first time they have been changed, so the aluminium housing held onto them pretty tightly, but once moving they should come undone fairly easily.

Now at this point, I panicked a little, as the flow of diesel was much more than I expected, in fact to say it was a torrent was an understatement, so much so, that I had fears I was draining the half a tank of fuel I had in the tank, but don't panic, the housing only looks small, but holds a large amount of fuel.