4x4 System - Vauxhall Antara Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 7th October 2014, 14:35 Thread Starter
SJG

I have a reasonable understanding of the Antara 4x4 system but is anybody an expert and can answer :-
- engaging the system is auto controlled by a unit in the gear box, how does this operate ?
- when you get traction loss at a wheel does the system apply brake pressure to this wheel and transfer grip to another ?

I like to know how these things work..

Cheers
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 7th October 2014, 18:58

I am not a expert but that is how it works . The traction control can lock a spinning wheel so you have this on front and back. The rear diff has a electronic clutch that will bring in the rear wheels if the front wheels spin this will use the ABS sensor.
The rear diff can slip if you need to turn a corner or it would feel like the brakes are on. All of this can happen very fast so in the wet you might not feel the front slip. I tow and in the wet I have never felt the front spin.
The system is only as good as the processor and software controlling it but the antara does work very well. I think the rear diff can sense a spinning wheel and lock in a 10 th of a second.
I had a mk1 freelander before the antara and that run 4x4 all the time but could slip the center clutch to turn corners but it would feel like the brakes are on so not to good in car parks. It can wear out the rear tyres and strain the drive train like gearbox and transfer box so for normal driving and towing I think the antara is just as good. The antara system can predict wheel spin when you push the throttle down hard or pull away with caravan on the back so bring in the diff before you need it. I only got yours last year so not used it in the snow yet hopefully get some this year to give it a go.
Edited by: Keeff
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 7th October 2014, 19:54