Conflicting Antara info - Vauxhall Antara Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 22nd June 2017, 09:50 Thread Starter

Hi all,
A newbie here looking for some info and thoughts on the Antara before I part with my cash.
I'm seriously considering a later (2012 onwards) 2.2 diesel auto Antara 4x4 as both a family car and caravan dragger but there are so many conflicting opinions and reviews on them I'm not sure what to believe!
My main sticking points are:
1. Is it reliable (some say yes, others say no)
2. Is the build quality any good (see above comment)
3. What is the true average MPG? Some say its as low as 21mpg, others up to 40. I wont be driving it over 80mph and my commute is 35 miles each way, half A roads, half motorway.
4. Whats the score with DPF's in these? Are they a problem?
5. Are there any "must check" things before you buy?
6. Whats the best spec to go for?

I've had one vauxhall before (a Signum) which was brilliant so I'm hoping this is of the same breed.
Any info welcome!
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 22nd June 2017, 10:43

1. Is it reliable (some say yes, others say no)( Difficult one to answer some say have problems some don't. there is no set rule)

2. Is the build quality any good
( I am not really sure it is, mine is a 65 plate 12,000 miles and has more squeaks, rattles than a box of angry mice fighting a dozen budgies)

3. What is the true average MPG? Some say its as low as 21mpg, others up to 40. I wont be driving it over 80mph and my commute is 35 miles each way, half A roads, half motorway.
(When it's not doing its regeneration of the DPF.... mine has averaged over 38 mpg mixed driving over 4,500 miles. Mine is a manual 6 speed)

4. Whats the score with DPF's in these? Are they a problem?